Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Codarts Library: DANCE

COLLECTION DANCE

The library has an extensive collection PRINTED BOOKS on dance and related subjects: modern dance, ballet, jazz, urban & world dance, biographies, dance history, dance technique, dance education, choreography, kinetics, health, anatomy, dance in art, art philosophy etc.
All these titles may be borrowed.

 

Besides this, there are full text E-BOOKS available as well. You can find these in the collection Music in Oxford Scholarship Online, check the website and start reading online:

    

 

Furthermore you can access The International Encyclopedia of Dance online. With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, this encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.

Check THIS LIST and the WEBSITES BELOW for dance journals the library subscribed to. Some journals we only have in print ór online, others in print ánd online.

 

   

 

JSTOR Arts & Sciences III

As a student or employee of Codarts, you have access to the online JSTOR archive Arts & Sciences III which includes over 150 e-journals on dance, music, performing arts, art, architecture, film studies, languages, literature, folklore and religion.

JSTOR holds dance & performing arts journals as DANCE RESEARCH JOURNAL, DANCE CHRONICLE, THEATRE JOURNAL and TDR (THE DRAMA REVIEW), but you might find useful articles in other journals as well.

Start your search on the homepage and discover what JSTOR has to offer you.



International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with full text content

IBTD is the definitive research database for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for top performing arts journals and books.

Journals included:
Choreographic practices - Contact Quarterly - Dance Magazine - Dance research - Dance Teacher - Journal of Dance Medicine & Science - Research in Dance Education - Sruti - and many more

 

INDIVIDUAL E-JOURNALS on dance

Most e-journals the library subscribed to, are part of a portal containing a large amount of journals. Be aware you don't have access to all these titles, but just the ones we have a paid subscription for.

 

Click HERE for an overview of all e-journals the library subscribed to.

 

       

Dance performances, documentaries, films and interviews are available on DVD ánd ONLINE.
DVDs may be borrowed for a week. ONLINE videos can be watched 24/7.

ONLINE DANCE VIDEOS


AUDIO

In the CD-collection you'll find a lot of music genres: classical, jazz, pop & world music, music theatre etc. This might be useful if you're looking for a composition for a choreography. We also have several CDs with music which can be used by dance teachers in their dance classes. Check the CATALOGUE for CDs and our ONLINE DATABASES page for streaming audio.

 

  

 

Theses from the Dance Teacher department are available digital via the library catalogue.
By clicking the link in the description of a thesis, a PDF file will be opened.

In the CATALOGUE you can search for DANCE BOOKS, JOURNALS, DVDs and CDs that are available in the library of Codarts. Check the other tabs for ONLINE SOURCES like e-journals, e-books etc.

Need help on how to search the catalogue? Check this page.

 

OTHER LIBRARIES - INSTITUTES - WEBSITES

If you can't find the information you need in the library of Codarts ór in the digital databases we subscribed to, you can extend your search to other libraries with dance collections, institutes & websites:


The library of the Academy of Theatre and Dance of the Amsterdam University of the Arts has a dance collection that is similar to the Codarts collection.

The collection of the former Theaterinstituut Nederland tells the story of the Dutch theatre history since the 17th century (dance, music, circus etc.) and consists of literature, video recordings and sheet music amongst other things. The collection is now part of the UNIVERSITY LIBRARY OF AMSTERDAM. If you want to use material, please read this information (in Dutch only) on consulting the collection.                                                                                                                                           The UvA also publishes the online Theatre encyclopedia in which you can find info on dance premières in the Netherlands since 1900, biographies and unique footage. Beside dance, the encyclopedia  covers all the other performing arts (drama, music theatre, cabaret, circus etc.) and holds its own YouTube channel with excerpts of performances.

The Jerome Robbins Dance Division of the New York Public Library is the largest collection in the field of dance in the world. On the website you'll find information on the collection and access to the catalogue.

The Dutch Society for Dance Research (VDO: Vereniging voor Dans Onderzoek) is a platform for dance studies in the Netherlands. VDO contributes to the exchange of ideas, dissemination of research and debate on the dance research in the Netherlands and publishes every two years the journal Danswetenschap in Nederland (Dance Research in the Netherlands).

Check this page for possibilities to borrow from other libraries.

MOTION BANK was a four-year project of the Forsythe Company providing a broad context for research into choreopraphic practice.

The 
WEBSITE contains phase one (2010-2013) documentation and results.

Motion Bank works on supporting dance education through increasing the documentation and availability of methods and tools. This n
ew documentation and tutorials are available here.

 

CITATION STYLES

Various citation styles exist, and many fields of study have a specific preference. The two styles used at Codarts are APA style and Chicago style. Check with your study program or your teacher/research coach which style you should use for crediting the sources used in your paper or thesis.

Consult the BOOKS we have in the library or ONLINE SOURCES like:




CITATIONS IN WORD
In Word, you can easily add citations when writing a document where you need to cite your sources, such as a research paper. Citations can be added in various formats, including APA and Chicago style (see above). Afterwards, you can create a bibliography of the sources you used to write your paper.


CITATION TOOLS IN ONLINE SOURCES
Most of the databases and e-journals the library subscribed to, offer a tool to generate and export citations.

DANCE COMPANIES

Looking for an overview of dance companies from all over the world?

Check out these websites...

LIBRARIAN

Profile Photo
Jeltje Kingma
Contact:
Kruisplein 26
3012 CC Rotterdam
The Netherlands
0031 (0)10 2171194