Skip to main content

Codarts Library: JAZZ & POP

Hal Leonard RECORDING METHOD, 6 books

REAL BOOKS - songfinder and more

The web site serves as a gathering space where musicians can learn about the latest new releases in the series, search for their favorite song charts, and participate in an online forum to share ideas and knowledge with other musicians.

Backing Tracks. Using the Real Book Play-Along series, you can practice your favorite tunes over professionally recorded and mixed backing tracks.

The WIRE - online magazine

The Wire is an independent, monthly music magazine covering a wide range of alternative, underground and non-mainstream musics. The Wire celebrates and interrogates the most visionary and inspiring, subversive and radical, marginalised and undervalued musicians on the planet, past and present, in the realms of avant rock, electronica, hiphop, new jazz, modern composition, traditional musics and beyond. Passionate, intelligent and provocative, The Wire wages war on the mundane and the mediocre.

Citation styles

Various citation styles exist, and many fields of study have a specific preference. The two styles used at Codarts are APA style and Chicago style. Check with your study program or your teacher/research coach which style you should use for crediting the sources used in your paper or thesis.

Consult the BOOKS we have in the library or ONLINE SOURCES like:




CITATIONS IN WORD
In Word, you can easily add citations when writing a document where you need to cite your sources, such as a research paper. Citations can be added in various formats, including APA and Chicago style (see above). Afterwards, you can create a bibliography of the sources you used to write your paper.


CITATION TOOLS IN ONLINE SOURCES
Most of the databases and e-journals the library subscribed to, offer a tool to generate and export citations.

Collection JAZZ/POP

Library                                                                                                                          use the catalogue to search How to search in the catalogue

Literature in the section JAZZ/POP contains books about music history, theory, improvisation, composing/arranging, methods/instruction on playing, music industry, entrepreneurship...etc.

Theses of graduated students are collected at the upper floor of the library.

Topics like singing techniques, stage fright, auditions, injury, music and brain are located in different section outside of JAZZ/POP. Search for keywords in the catalogue to find their place, or...ask the librarian.

Online                                                                                                                            use the search engine to search

E-BOOKS

As Codarts student you have access to the online books on music on the Oxford Scholarship Online databases. Specify subject 'music' in the search engine of the site, because we don't have access to other subjects.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music
This encyclopedia's 30,000 entries cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.

in case of external use, search for the title of this encyclopedia on the publisher's website

 

The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002)
This dictionary is part of Oxford Music Online which also includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians , 2nd edition (2001), and The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The Oxford Companion to Music -and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Library                                                                                                                             

On the field of Jazz and Pop, the library is subscribed to these journals:

Bass player

Computer music

​Downbeat (jazz)

Electronic musician

Gitarist / Guitarist

Heaven (pop music)​

Jazzism magazine​

Modern drummer​

Musicmaker (pop music)​

Oor (pop music)​

Percussive notes​

Sound on sound (studio technique)​

The Wire (avant-garde/jazz/pop)​

The library is also subscribed to a lot of other music related journals, with subjects as instruments, music education, psychology, health, etc. It is possible to borrow journals from the library (for 1 week), except for the most recent copies.


Online
                                                                                                                           

The WIRE


JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. The best place to find articles on jazz/pop.

 


JOURNAL OF JAZZ STUDIES

The Journal of Jazz Studies (JJS), formerly the print journal Annual Review of Jazz Studies, is an open-access online journal, which is peer reviewed and published by the Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. Addressed to specialists and fans alike, JJS provides a forum for the ever-expanding range and depth of jazz scholarship, from technical analyses to oral history to bibliography to cultural interpretation.

https://jjs.libraries.rutgers.edu/index.php/jjs/index

Library                                                                                                                              use the catalogue to search How to search in the catalogue

DVD's: The signature of the jazz en pop DVD's is JP. The color labels shows the content type by genre (methods, films, documentary, concerts)

CD's: Our CD collection contains the most important jazz recordings of the music history. You can search for album, track, composer or performer.

There are also a lot of jazz CD's in storage. You can find the titles of the main albums in the catalogue; if you want to have a look at them, ask your librarian. 

We have a small collection of pop CD's; check our online collection (e.g. Muziekwebluister).

Online                                                                                                                            use the search engine to search

Muziekwebluister
is the online database of Muziekweb, which includes around 6 million tracks of streaming audio (classical music, pop, jazz, world music etc.). You can only listen to the collection within the buildings of Codarts. You may also borrow from their collection at Bibliotheek Rotterdam (Public Library) at Hoogstraat 110 (near Blaak station).

Omnibooks

Real books

Per intrument

Methodes

Loading ...

Music/artisctic RESEARCH

This book introduces the process and techniques for searching and writing about music. A perfect reference before and during writing your thesis.

The Journal for Artistic Research (JAR) is an international, online, Open Access and peer-reviewed journal that disseminates artistic research from all disciplines

Links

All About Jazz
The most comprehensive jazz resource on Earth. Recent and archive jazz articles, news, jazz musician's database, thousands of free MP3's.

Allmusic
A wealth of information about all musical styles, composers, artists, songs, musical terms and concepts, etc.

Muziekencyclopedie
The Dutch Music Encyclopedia by "Beeld en Geluid" (Sound and Vision) is the largest online encyclopedia on Dutch music. You will find biographies, discographies, photographs, contact-information and audio/video of 5000 Dutch musicians, bands, composers, ensembles, orchestras, stages and festivals from Dutch popular-, jazz-, world-, classical and contemporary music.
 

Wat is music publishing? VIDEO serie

Wat is music publishing? Wat doet een creative manager? Wat is een sync? Hoe clear je een sample? Je hoort het van songwriters, producers en andere muziekindustrie-professionals in de 4 publishing-video’s van de NMUV (Nederlandse Muziek Uitgevers Vereniging).

DVD's

Jazz workshops on DVD. You may borrow them for one week.

E-journal on health of performers

Medical Problems of Performing Artists is the first clinical medical journal devoted to the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of medical and psychological disorders related to the performing arts. Original peer-reviewed research papers cover topics including neurologic disorders, musculoskeletal conditions, voice and hearing disorders, anxieties, stress, substance abuse, and other health issues related to actors, dancers, singers, musicians, and other performers.