Skip to main content

Codarts Library: WORLD MUSIC

Garland - hard copy and digital

Ethnomusicology - digital e-journal

Music/artisctic RESEARCH

This book introduces the process and techniques for searching and writing about music. A perfect reference before and during writing your thesis.

The Journal for Artistic Research (JAR) is an international, online, Open Access and peer-reviewed journal that disseminates artistic research from all disciplines

The WIRE - online magazine

The Wire is an independent, monthly music magazine covering a wide range of alternative, underground and non-mainstream musics. The Wire celebrates and interrogates the most visionary and inspiring, subversive and radical, marginalised and undervalued musicians on the planet, past and present, in the realms of avant rock, electronica, hiphop, new jazz, modern composition, traditional musics and beyond. Passionate, intelligent and provocative, The Wire wages war on the mundane and the mediocre.

E-journal on health of performers

Medical Problems of Performing Artists is the first clinical medical journal devoted to the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of medical and psychological disorders related to the performing arts. Original peer-reviewed research papers cover topics including neurologic disorders, musculoskeletal conditions, voice and hearing disorders, anxieties, stress, substance abuse, and other health issues related to actors, dancers, singers, musicians, and other performers.

Headline - book review by JANE HARVEY - 2017 February

Sections of World Music

The world music collection on the ground floor of the library is divided in 8 different sections, each marked with separate labels:

  1. WERELDMUZIEK; DIVERS - books on world music in general
  2. FLAMENCO
  3. TANGO
  4. BRAZILIË
  5. LATIN
  6. INDIA
  7. TURKS
  8. Other countries - with a label for each country

Within one section (Tango, Latin etc.) you first find the sheet music (signature is a letter code)  and then the literature (signature is a numeric code) on the subject.

INDIA and TURKS are exceptions.

  • INDIA has no separate sheet music section; it is marked as literature
  • TURKS is divided in three sections: 1. general, 2. art music and 3. folk music. All the three subsections have a separated 'literature-sheet music' division.

Collection World Music

Library                                                                                                                          use the catalogue to search   How to search in the catalogue

Within one section (Tango, Latin etc.) you first find the sheet music. The signature is a letter code, mainly the first letter of the instrument. BLM is the signature of books with variable or more instruments.

  • INDIA has no separate sheet music section; scores are marked as literature.

Online

Partituras Brasileiras Online

The National Arts Foundation (Funarte) launches Songbook Online International, with more than 1,200 brazilian scores by more than 15 institutions and some composers.The texts that guide the collections are available in Portuguese, English, Spanish and French. The songbook will be distributed by (Itamaraty) Ministry of Foreign Affairs to Embassies and Consulates of Brazil abroad for use in actions to promote Brazilian music to educational institutions and to the general public.

Click below to download the volumes of the collection.

Library                                                                                                                          use the catalogue to search How to search in the catalogue

  • Literature in the sections contains books on history, theory, biographies, methods etc.
  • The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music contains the music history of the 5 continents and is to be found near the copy machines at the moment.
  • Theses of graduated students are collected in the upper floor of the library.
  • Topics like e.g. stage fright, auditions, injury, music and brain are located in a different section outside of World Music. Search by keywords in the catalogue to find their place, or...ask the librarian.

Online                                                                                                                            use the search engine to search

 

Reference works

A reference work (often in several volumes) contains articles on various topics (often arranged in alphabetical order) like encyclopedias.

  • ​The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is also online available
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of the music of India

 

E-Books

As Codarts student you have access to online books on music on the Oxford Scholarship Online databases. Specify subject 'music' in the search engine of the site because we don't have access to other subjects.

Library                                                                                                                          use the catalogue to search How to search in the catalogue

DVD's: The signature of the world music DVD's is WM. The color labels show the content type by genre (method, film, documentary, concert)

CD's: We have an unique CD collection on the 5 world music programmes of Codarts. In our catalogue you can search for album or track title, composer or artist, but also for the name of a specific raga for example.

 

 

Online                                                                                                                            use the search engine to search

Muziekwebluister
is the online database of Muziekweb, which includes around 6 million tracks of streaming audio (classical music, pop, jazz, world music etc.). You can only listen to complete albums of the collection within the buildings of Codarts; outside Codarts you can listen to 30 seconds fragments. You may also borrow from their collection at Bibliotheek Rotterdam (Public Library) at Hoogstraat 110 (near Blaak station).

Medici.tv is the largest online video collection on classical music, opera and dance, but you can also find some jazz and world music documentaires.
Have a look at over 1800 films including concerts, documentaries and master classes. Medici.tv. also streams  over 100 live events every year from the world's most prestigious venues.

Library                                                                                                                          use

On the field of world music, the library is subscribed to these hard- copy journals:

Asian music

Mundo flamenco

Songlines

The world of music

The library is also subscribed to a lot of other music related journals, with subjects as instruments, music education, psychology, health, etc. It is possible to borrow journals from the library (for 1 week), except for the most recent copies.

 

Online                                                                                                                           

INDIVIDUAL JOURNALS
Most e-journals the library subscribed to, are part of a portal containing a large amount of e-journals. Be aware you don't have access to all these titles, but just the ones we have a paid subscription for. 
Latin American Music Review on the portal of University of Texas Press

Yearbook for traditional music on the portal of Cambridge University Press
Asian music on the portal of Project Muse
Ethnomusicology on JSTOR (without moving wall)
The world of music on JSTOR (without moving wall)


JSTOR

As a student or employee of Codarts, you have ONLINE access to the JSTOR archive Arts & Sciences III which includes over 150 journals on dance, music, performing arts, art, architecture, film studies, languages, literature, folklore and religion.Start your search on the homepage and discover what JSTOR has to offer you.
GOOD TO KNOW
The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Moving walls are generally represented in years. In rare instances, a publisher has elected to have a "zero" moving wall, so their current issues are available in JSTOR shortly after publication.

Links

Borrowing from other libraries. 
When Codarts doesn't have an item you need, you can look around in other libraries.             
Search and information

Allmusic
A wealth of information about all musical styles, composers, artists, songs, musical terms and concepts, etc.

Muziekencyclopedie
The Dutch Music Encyclopedia by "Beeld en Geluid" (Sound and Vision) is the largest online encyclopedia on Dutch music. You will find biographies, discographies, photographs, contact-information and audio/video of 5000 Dutch musicians, bands, composers, ensembles, orchestras, stages and festivals from Dutch popular-, jazz-, world-, classical and contemporary music.
 

Citation styles

Various citation styles exist, and many fields of study have a specific preference. The two styles used at Codarts are APA style and Chicago style. Check with your study program or your teacher/research coach which style you should use for crediting the sources used in your paper or thesis.

Consult the BOOKS we have in the library or ONLINE SOURCES like:




CITATIONS IN WORD
In Word, you can easily add citations when writing a document where you need to cite your sources, such as a research paper. Citations can be added in various formats, including APA and Chicago style (see above). Afterwards, you can create a bibliography of the sources you used to write your paper.


CITATION TOOLS IN ONLINE SOURCES
Most of the databases and e-journals the library subscribed to, offer a tool to generate and export citations.

Wat is music publishing? VIDEO serie

Wat is music publishing? Wat doet een creative manager? Wat is een sync? Hoe clear je een sample? Je hoort het van songwriters, producers en andere muziekindustrie-professionals in de 4 publishing-video’s van de NMUV (Nederlandse Muziek Uitgevers Vereniging).

Dvd section - films, docu's, concerts, methods

Flamenco CD's / DVD's

We have some rare audio and video recordings on flamenco performances like concerts of Paco Peña and Paco de Lucia.

Ask for this material at the desk.

the world of music - hard copy and digital

the world of music 
is an international scholarly journal

Each issue focuses on a specific topic. In a firmly established practice of the world of music and the world of music (new series), high-profile guest editors are invited to design issues and see them through the entire preparation process.

In the library. Digital access via JSTOR