Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RECOMMENDED DUTCH LIBRARIES
If you can't find the information you need in the library of Codarts, you can extend your search to other libraries.
Dutch libraries that are definitely valuable during your study, are:
Library of the University of Amsterdam
has the largest circus collection of the world, it contains about 5000 books, brochures, programs and posters and is part of the Theatre Studies collection.
Read the info about using the library as a non-affiliated visitor on their website.
Theatre collection of the University of Amsterdam Special Collections
The theatre collection of the Special Collections department of the UvA, has its own catalogue and contains many circus sources. So check both catalogues of the UvA!
Koninklijke Bibliotheek (KB)
The national library of the Netherlands. Students in higher education receive a 50% discount on a membership. With this membership you have access to the complete collection of the KB, you may use dozens of online databases and hundreds of thousands e-books, e-journals and electronic newspapers.
Collections of a large amount of Dutch and foreign libraries can be searched in Picarta on Worldcat. Via this bibliographic database, books can be borrowed and articles requested from other libraries.
Check THIS page for more info on the KB ánd Picarta on Worldcat.
The library holds a growing collection BOOKS on circus arts: essays, biographies, books on circus history, methodology etc.
Printed books may be borrowed and our E-BOOKS can be read 24/7.
Check THIS LIST for circus journals the library subscribed to. Unfortunately these journals are not full text available online. You may borrow journals for one week (except for the current issue, this one can be read in the library)).
JSTOR Arts & Sciences III
As a student or employee of Codarts, you have access to the JSTOR archive Arts & Sciences III which includes over 150 journals on dance, music, performing arts, art, architecture, film studies, languages, literature, folklore and religion.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences III doesn't hold specific journals on circus but if you search on subject you might discover that there are useful articles in other journals.
Furthermore JSTOR is very worthwhile if you look for sources in the field of performing arts in general or one of the subjects mentioned above.
is a freely accessible magazine and website that promotes, records and thinks about contemporary circus.
Medical Problems of Performing Artists
is a clinical medical journal devoted to the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of medical and psychological disorders related to the performing arts.
There is a small collection of circus DVDs available in the library, containing performances, documentaries, circus movies and circus methodology. You can take them out for one week.
In the CATALOGUE you can search for CIRCUS BOOKS, THESES, JOURNALS and DVDs that are available in the library of Codarts.
Need help on how to search the catalogue? Check this page.
COLLECTIONS, BIBLIOGRAPHIES & MUSEA
- Circus Arts Research Platform (CARP)
CARP is a resource platform for circus scholars, students and professionals. This free online resource is primarily for academic research and studies related to the circus arts and offers an international directory of researchers and an bibliography of academic publications related to circus arts studies.
Furthermore the platform collects and maps universities and research institutions with circus-related research programs or research chairs; institutions offering residencies to scholars, as well as relevant collections in circus arts.
The Circusmuseum is not a museum as such, but a website where the highlights from the circus collections of the Allard Pierson Museum (Special Collections of the University of Amsterdam) are shown. Materials can be consulted by appointment.
The circus collections (the largest in Europe) consist of more than ten thousand items: posters, photographs, postcards, hundreds of books, pictures, flyers, programmes, but also little sculptures and models. The collection is continually supplemented with new material and more images of will be added as they are digitised.
For researchers, students and other interested parties, a Circus research guide is composed (see the bottom of this page). With this guide, you are familiarised with the different catalogues, collections and archives to help you discover and research.
the Belgian Circuscentrum in Gent holds a documentation centre where you can consult hundreds of books, reference works, journals, files, DVDs, comic books and posters on circus. Ideal for your thesis or just to acquire knowledge. Visiting only on appointment.
- Milner Library’s Circus and Allied Arts Collection (Illinois, USA)
is one of the largest special collections of its type in existence. While the primary focus of the collection is upon the circus, related arts such as carnivals, sideshows, carousels, conjuring, music halls, and vaudeville circus are also represented.
The library holds collections of online available historical circus photos and circus films as well.
- Ringling Art Library (USA)
The foundation for the Art Library is the personal collection of books owned by circus magnate John Ringling: books on art, interior design, and circus history. Since the library was founded in 1948, it has continued to be at the forefront of documenting, preserving, and exhibiting the history of the circus. The Art Library has grown into one of the largest and most comprehensive art research libraries in the southeastern United States.
Check the catalogue for the circus resources or the varied collections in the Circus Museum online. Among the collections are beautifully printed lithographic posters, drawings and other fine art prints.
The Mexican Center for Circus Documentation is a space for protection, conservation, consultation, reflection, dissemination and production of information regarding the circus. The center is based in Mexico City and is the only one of its kind in the region.
Focused on the national circus cultural heritage, it seeks to stimulate research in this broad field of study, building bridges of exchange with other documentation and research centers worldwide, as well as with the circus community as a whole.
- More websites containing circus images, posters, photographs etc.: Europeana, World Digital Library, Gallica
- Circostrada is the European network for circus and street arts, their core mission is furthering the development, empowerment and recognition of these fields at European and international levels. Circostrada brings together professionals from Europe and beyond, who are characterised both by their diversity and their shared interest in circus and street arts.
Fedec (European Federation of Professional Circus Schools) is a European and international network of secondary, vocational and higher education circus schools and training programmes, ánd organisations involved in information, research and circus arts advocacy, located in European countries and beyond. The FEDEC is committed to supporting the development and evolution of training, teaching and creation in the field of circus arts.
- Sideshow is a magazine and website that promotes, records and thinks about contemporary circus.
- Unpack the arts
A European project (2012-2014), that provided residencies for cultural journalists in the context of twelve major festivals programming contemporary circus. The goal of the project was to facilitate the circulation of knowledge and experience, to develop the critical discourses of its participants, and to further the role of the media within the (circus) arts and contemporary society.
On the website you can find the articles written by the journalists.
PAPERS & THESES
When you have to write a paper or thesis during your study, it's of course very handy to have an example from former students.
The second year papers for circus history ánd the fourth year theses can be read online.
You open the PDF file by clicking the link in the description in the catalogue (log in with your Codarts account).
Various citation styles exist, and many fields of study have a specific preference. The two styles used at Codarts are APA style and Chicago style. Check with your study program or your teacher/research coach which style you should use for crediting the sources used in your paper or thesis.
Consult the BOOKS we have in the library or ONLINE SOURCES like:
CITATIONS IN WORD
In Word, you can easily add citations when writing a document where you need to cite your sources, such as a research paper. Citations can be added in various formats, including APA and Chicago style (see above). Afterwards, you can create a bibliography of the sources you used to write your paper.
CITATION TOOLS IN ONLINE SOURCES
Most of the databases and e-journals the library subscribed to, offer a tool to generate and export citations.